Frequently asked questions
When can I take Segment One?
What do I have to bring the first night of class?
What is a "Pink Slip"?
Can my brother and sister be in the car when I'm driving on my Pink Slip?
What happens if I have to miss a class?
The State of Michigan requires that you attend 24 hours of class in order to complete Segment One, so if you ever need to miss a regularly scheduled class session, you will have to find a way to make up that class. We make it very easy to do that by offereing classes all the time, year-round. Essentailly there are over 380 days and/or times per year that you could come in to do a make up class: that includes all Segment One & Segment Two classes since it doesn't matter what class you attend, it matters only that you are in our classroom for class time.
When can I take Segment Two class?
Segment Two class can be taken anytime AFTER three months on your Level One License. This is different from when you took Segment One or when you finished Segment One. This is the date that you actually went to the Secretary of State office and got your Level One License. Three months from THAT date is when you are first eligible to take Segment Two. Click here to figure out when you got your Level One License
Can I take Segment Two at a different driving school than I took Segment One?
Yes, you can take Segment One and Segment Two wherever you chose that is the right fit for you. We offer classes year round to accommodate your busy schedule! Click here for a list of upcoming classes
Does a parent have to come along on the Road Test?
If someone is under 18, they must be accompanied by a parent/guardian OR and parent/guardian representative. This could be an aunt or uncle or grandparent or neighbor or sibling or anyone over 21 AS LONG AS YOU FILL OUT THE PARENT SUBSTITUTION FORM and bring it along.
Also, NO ONE ELSE may ride along on the test. So, make arrangements for other siblings and/or pets.
If someone is 18 or older and has their Temporary Instruction Permit (T.I.P.), then they go on the road test by themselves.
Do I get points off if my mom talks in the backseat?
Parents cannot give any driving advice or make any comments about driving but there are no penalties for talking.
If parents do overstep those boundaries ("Johnny, you need to get into the turn lane!") they will be issued a verbal warning ("Mrs. Smith, you need to let Johnny make those decisions, this is your verbal warning") and that warning will be recorded. If it happens again then the test would be stopped.
How long does the Road Test take?
The entire process takes approximately an hour. Filling out paperwork takes approximately 5-10 minutes. The parking lot procedures take approximately 5-10 minutes and the on road portion takes about 25-40 minutes depending on the traffic and the route.
What happens if I fail my road test?
People fail the road test for many different reasons. You can take another test as soon as the next day (the State of Michigan does not allow you to test again the same day). Your examiner will go over the test with you and make sure you know why you failed. Your examiner IS NOT responsible for OR capable of teaching you how to drive during your 5 minutes of feedback after your test. Depending on the reason for failure you may want to consider getting more practice in the area you struggled with:
If you failed in the parking lot, you might be ready to pass immediately.
If you struggled with driving on the expressway, some focused expressway practice might have you ready in a few days.
If it was an automatic failure (one big mistake), maybe you learned ‘the hard way’ and will never do that again.
If there were multiple areas of struggle, you may need weeks or months of consistent practice before you are ready to drive on your own and get a license.